University of Texas Elementary School Management Board Austin, Texas August 24, 2021

Attendees

- Board Members:
 - Present: Ms. Kathy Armenta, Dr. Alex Eusebi, Dr. Kal Kallison, Dr. Bill Lasher, Dr. Sherry Field, Dr. Victor Saenz, Mr. Scott Gray, Dr. Shasta Buchanan, Mr. Mark Williams, Mr. Felipe Estrada, Dr. Cynthia Franklin, Mr. J E Johnson, Dr. Sharon Vaughn, Ms. Starla Simmons
 - Absent: Dr. Terrance Green
 - Non-voting board associates present: Dr. Melissa Chavez, Mr. Chris Hutto, Dr. Jennifer Maedgen
 - Non-voting board associates absent: none
- Guests: none
- UT-UCS Staff: Mr. Bob Micks, Ms. Jenny Davis, Ms. Melissa Ruffin, Dr. Nicole Whetstone, Ms. Sharon Yarbrough, Dr. Autumn Leal-Shopp, Ms. Janina Roberts, Mr. Solis Rough

I. Call to Order and Establish Quorum

Dr. Field called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM and noted that a quorum was present.

II. Welcome and Recognition of Special Guests

III. Citizen Comments

IV. Items for Consideration by Consent

a. Consider approval of the Consent Agenda.

A motion that the Consent Agenda be approved was made by Dr. Lasher and seconded by Dr. Kallison.

For – 14 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 1

V. Action Items

a. Consider approval of resolution concerning the Health and Safety of the students at UT Elementary School)

A motion to approve was made by Ms. Armenta and seconded by Mr. Williams.

For – 14 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 1

b. Consider approval of the 2021-2022 budget

A motion to approve was made by Dr. Lasher and seconded by Dr. Franklin.

For – 14 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 1

c. Consider approval of an "Other" Waiver to provide Remote General Education Homebound Services

A motion to approve was made by Dr. Lasher and seconded by Ms. Armenta.

For – 14 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 1

d. Consider approval of the research project, "The Effect of Autonomy-Supporting Interventions on the Efficacy of Reciprocal Peer Teaching in Fourth Grade String Students' Music Performance Outcomes"

A motion to approve was made by Ms. Armenta and seconded by Dr. Vaughn.

For – 14 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 1

VI. Reports/Discussion Items

- a. Chair's report Dr. Sherry Field
- b. Associate Vice President's report Dr. Melissa Chavez
- c. Deputy Superintendent's report Dr. Nicole Whetstone
- d. Health & Safety/Facilities report Dr. Victor Saenz
 - The results of the safety audit from June 22, 2021 were reviewed. Recommendations were made for continuous improvements to overall safety. Name badges will be worn by all staff for identification purposes. In accordance with Texas statute, appropriate staff will be offered Automated External Defibrillator training and a list of certified staff will be maintained and shared with campus staff. The district will continue participating in the COVID-19 Rapid Testing Program in collaboration with Texas Education Agency and Texas Department of Emergency Management.
- e. Strategic Planning Committee report Mrs. Kathy Armenta
- f. Finance report Dr. Bill Lasher
- g. Education and Research Committee report Dr. Cynthia Franklin
- h. Nominating Committee report Dr. Alexandra Eusebi
- i. Development report Mr. Mark Williams

VII. Adjournment

A motion that the meeting be adjourned was made by Ms. Armenta and seconded by Dr. Lasher.

For – 10 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 5

Dr. Field adjourned the meeting at 11:00 AM