## University of Texas Elementary School Management Board Austin, Texas August 23, 2022

## **Attendees**

- Board Members:
  - Present: Ms. Kathy Armenta, Dr. Alex Eusebi, Dr. Kal Kallison, Dr. Bill Lasher, Dr. Sherry Field, Dr. Shasta Buchanan, Mr. Mark Williams, Mr. J E Johnson, Dr. Sharon Vaughn, Ms. Starla Simmons, Dr. Debra Cantu, Ms. Jessica Loredo
  - o Absent: Dr. Terrance Green, Mr. Felipe Estrada, Dr. Cynthia Franklin
  - Non-voting board associates present: Dr. Melissa Chavez, Dr. Jennifer Maedgen
  - o Non-voting board associates absent: none
- Guests: none
- UT-UCS Staff: Mr. Bob Micks, Ms. Jenny Davis, Ms. Melissa Ruffin, Dr. Nicole Whetstone, Ms. Sharon Yarbrough, Dr. Autumn Leal-Shopp, Ms. Janina Roberts

## I. Call to Order and Establish Quorum

*Dr. Field called the meeting to order at 8:30 AM and noted that a quorum was present.* 

- II. Welcome and Recognition of Special Guests
- **III.** Citizen Comments
- IV. Items for Consideration by Consent
  - a. Consider approval of the Consent Agenda.

A motion that the Consent Agenda be approved was made by Dr. Kallison and seconded by Dr. Lasher

For - 11 Opposed - 0 Abstain - 0 Absent - 4

## V. Action Items

a. Consider approval of resolution for recommendation to extend the appointment of Kathleen Armenta to the Management Board for a three-year term dated August 2022 – July 2025

A motion to approve was made by Dr. Kallison and seconded by Dr. Lasher.

For - 11 Opposed - 0 Abstain - Absent - 4

b. Consider approval of the School Library Collection policy

A motion to approve was made by Dr. Lasher and seconded by Dr. Kallison.

For - 11 Opposed - 0 Abstain - Absent - 4

	(	c. Consider approval of the Summer Partial Safety Audit and Exterior Door Audit								
		A motion to approve was made by Dr. Kallison and seconded by Mr. Williams.								
		For –	12	Opposed –	0	Abstain –		Absent – 3		
	1	d. Consider approval of Governance Policy - Group 1, Emergency Plans								
		A motion to approve was made by Dr. Lasher and seconded by Mr. Williams.								
		For –	11	Opposed –	0	Abstain –		Absent – 4		
	1	e. Consider approval of the 2022-2023 Budget								
		A motion to approve was made by Dr. Lasher and seconded by Ms. Armenta.								
		For –	11	Opposed –	0	Abstain –		Absent -4		
VI.	Repo	ports/Discussion Items								
	-	<ul> <li>a. Chair's report - Dr. Sherry Field</li> <li>b. Associate Vice President's report - Dr. Melissa Chavez</li> <li>c. Deputy Superintendent's report - Dr. Nicole Whetstone</li> <li>d. Health &amp; Safety/Facilities report - Dr. Kal Kallison</li> <li>e. Strategic Planning Committee report - no report was made</li> <li>f. Finance report - Dr. Bill Lasher</li> <li>g. Education and Research Committee report - Dr. Cynthia Franklin</li> <li>h. Nominating Committee report - Dr. Alexandra Eusebi</li> <li>i. Development report - Mr. Mark Williams</li> </ul>								
VII.	Adjou	urnm	ent							
		A motion that the meeting be adjourned was made by Dr. Lasher and seconded by Dr. Kallison.								
		For –		Opposed –	0	Abstain –	0	Absent –		
	Dr. Fi	eld ac	djourned	d the meeting a	at 10:05	AM				