University of Texas Elementary School Management Board Austin, Texas April 23, 2024

Attendees

- Board Members:
 - Present: Kathy Armenta, Dr. Sarah Woulfin, Mark Williams, Jessica Loredo, Dr. Kal Kallison, J E Johnson, Dr. Bill Lasher, Dr. Katie Tackett, Felipe Estrada, Dr. Debra Cantu
 - o Absent: Dr. Alex Eusebi, Dr. Starla Simmons, Dr. Sharon Vaughn
 - Non-voting board associates present: Dr. Melissa Chavez, Dr. Jennifer Maedgen, Lara Wilder
 - Non-voting board associates absent: none
- Guests: Dean Charles Martinez, Dr. Victor Saenz
- UT-UCS Staff: Bob Micks, Jenny Davis, Dr. Nicole Whetstone, Sharon Yarbrough, Dr. Autumn Leal-Shopp, Dr. Janina Roberts, Giovanny Cantoran, Jazmine Leon-Wing, Lori Moore, Erick Green

I. Call to Order and Establish Quorum

Dr. Lasher called the meeting to order at 11:33 AM and noted that a quorum was present.

II. Welcome and Recognition of Special Guests

III. Citizen Comments

IV. Items for Consideration by Consent

a. Consider approval of the Consent Agenda.

A motion that the Consent Agenda be approved was made by Dr. Lasher and seconded by Ms. Armenta

For – 10 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 3

V. Action Items

a. Consider the nomination of Eddie Lopez for recommendation to the Management Board effective July 1, 2024

A motion to approve was made by Ms. Armenta and seconded by Mr. Johnson

For – 10 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 3

b. Consider the nomination of Jennifer Smith for recommendation to the Management Board effective July 1, 2024

A motion to approve was made by Dr. Kallison and seconded by Mr. Estrada For – 10 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 3 c. Consider the nomination of Yulanda McCarty-Harris for recommendation to the Management Board effective July 1, 2024

A motion to approve was made by Ms. Armenta and seconded by Mr. Williams

For – 10 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 3

d. Consider the nomination of Jolie Kinyamahanga for recommendation to the Management Board effective July 1, 2024

A motion to approve was made by Ms. Armenta and seconded by Dr. Kallison

For – 10 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 3

e. Consider approval of a 2023-2024 Application for Low Attendance Days Waiver

A motion to approve was made by Mr. Williams and seconded by Mr. Estrada

For – 10 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 3

f. Consider approval of the 2024-2025 Budget

A motion to approve was made by Dr. Kallison and seconded by Mr. Williams

For – 10 Opposed – 0 Abstain – 0 Absent – 3

VI. Reports/Discussion Items

- a. Chair's report Dr. Bill Lasher
- b. Associate Vice President's report Dr. Melissa Chavez
- c. Superintendent's report Dr. Nicole Whetstone
- d. Health & Safety/Facilities report Dr. Katie Tackett, report was made by Dr. Autumn Leal
- e. Strategic Planning Committee report Kathy Armenta (no report was made)
- f. Finance report Dr. Kal Kallison, report was made by Jenny Davis
- g. Education and Research Committee report Dr. Sarah Woulfin (no report or updates given)
- h. Nominating Committee report Dr. Alexandra Eusebi (no report was made)
- i. Development report Felipe Estrada, report was made by Sharon Yarbrough and Ms. Jazmine Leon-Wing

VII. Adjournment

Dr. Lasher adjourned the meeting at 1:17 PM